“I’m late to everything…” An introduction to my first series.

I’m perpetually late. Not to events, gatherings, meals or lectures – in fact my timing in those instances is pretty spot on. No, it’s films, albums, TV shows and any other conceivable form of media that may already boast considerable acclaim or followers that I tend to drift towards some years after their release. So alright, yes, I was untruthful, I am mostly late to everything, but that doesn’t have the same ring to it, does it?

It’s not intentional, I promise. I don’t go out of my way to ignore Ghostbusters or the Godfather trilogy, I mean, why would I? I’m sure I’d  love the ever-living shit out of them and plus, it’d be one less reason for people to hate me on film forums which is something I can definitely get behind. No, it’s just a case of me being inherently stubborn and having unbridled access to an overwhelmingly large catalogue of films I’ve never seen, music I’ve never listened to and games I’ve never played. I think that makes me ungrateful, right? I’m essentially bemoaning Netflix and Spotify for having too much on offer, but I don’t mean it like that. Although, I imagine the entire process of browsing through a streaming site, adding films or music to a watch/listen list, then never returning to them is habitual for most people. If it isn’t, then you clearly have far more self-control than anyone should be allowed.

Moving on: I am absolutely the person who will wax lyrical about something everyone else watched five years ago, much to the detriment of my social interactions. I’m starting to think it’s my fatal flaw. Of course, there’s nothing more productive than dedicating an entire series of blog posts to conversations that most of my friends detest, but that’s what I’m going to do.

“I’m late to everything!” will act as a retrospective for things that I missed out on during their original run for varying reasons. I may not have been old enough, I may have not cared, I may not have been born. Either way, it’ll be fun to retroactively look at these and see how they hold up some years after their release  – for example, my first post is going to be about Twin Peaks. Does it hold up? I mean, not really. Some of it looks great, some of it looks like a straight-to-video Nickolodeon movie from the late 80s. Was that intentional? Of course. Is it still enjoyable? You bet your ass it is.

Media is often built for the period it’s released in. Society and culture at the time are paramount to your consumption – they can completely shape or skew the way you view things which can be good or bad for a multitude of reasons. For example, it’s common knowledge that I love the 80s, for whatever reason the aesthetic of it appeals to me and I connect with the way in which films and music were produced some thirty years ago. With that in mind, something like Miami Vice is an (admittedly hyperbolic and distorted) view and time capsule of that era, I was born in Birmingham, England in 1995, so my existing experience of Miami in the mid-80s is non-existent, but watching Miami Vice thirty years after it aired provides me with insight into the political, social and cultural artefacts of the time. I know we can’t all be part of a suave multi-ethnic detective partnership, and of course it isn’t the most authentic portrayal of the world at the time, but at least we get some understanding of it.

I’ll stop myself before this devolves into some University-grade analytical essay about the cultural significance of Miami Vice, although that woulda been one hell of a dissertation topic. For now, this is the series of posts I’m going to be running with and hopefully people will turn me onto things that I’ve missed and they’ll be included here in the future. I hope you all enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

